First Christian Church of Winchester, Kentucky began life in 1791 as a nine member Baptist Congregation known as Strode’s Fork Church located at the early Clark County settlement of Strode’s Station. In 1812, the Church moved to the sight of the present-day Winchester Cemetery where a brick Church structure known as the Friendship Church was erected. The congregation at this point numbered about fifty people. As the church grew it became necessary to move once again, this time to the corner of Washington and Highland Streets in 1827. Through-out the 1820’s the congregation became increasingly drawn to the emerging Stone-Campbell movement and in 1849 left the Boone Creek Baptist Association.
From that time forward they were know as the First Christian Church. In 1845 the growing church moved once again to the site of the Governor James Clark Judicial Center (former Post Office) and erected a brick structure known as the Court Street Christian Church. This building was essentially rebuilt in 1875 in the location and a bell tower was added. On March 25, 1908 The Court Street Christian Church was destroyed by fire. The congregation sold the lot to the United States government for the construction of a Post Office and purchased a large lot at the corner of Hickman and Highland Streets. After one year of construction under the leadership of Rev. John H. McNeill, a new building was dedicated on May 2,1909. While ever mindful of her rich heritage, The First Christian Church seeks to give a continuing witness of faith to “Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today and forever.”